The WHO Reproductive Health Library (RHL) project was initiated by the UNDP/UNFPA/WHO/World Bank Special Programme of Research, Development and Research Training in Human Reproduction (HRP) in April 1996. Since then many individuals and institutions have supported and contributed to this project. The World Health Organization (WHO) and the Department of Reproductive Health and Research, of which HRP is now a part, are grateful to all those individuals and institutions.

WHO is especially grateful to Dr Iain Chalmers (The James Lind Initiative) for his supportive and thoughtful advice, which has helped to give the project its current direction. WHO would also like to thank Dr José Belizan, Dr Paul Garner, Dr James Neilson and the late Dr Chris Silagy for their support and helpful advice during the initial development of the RHL project.

WHO is grateful to John Wiley & Sons, Ltd. and the Cochrane Collaboration for allowing WHO to reproduce Cochrane reviews in RHL. Thanks are also due to the Centre for Reviews and Dissemination, University of York, York, United Kingdom, for giving permission to include in RHL a selection of their structured abstracts (DARE abstracts). WHO would also like to thank BioMed Central Ltd., Blackwell Science Ltd. and Elsevier Inc. for giving permission to reproduce in RHL selected articles from their journals. WHO would like to thank the Department for International Development, London, United Kingdom, and the Ministry of Health, Spain, for their financial contributions to the RHL project.

Photos courtesy of Photoshare

Shehu Danlami Salihu; Henrica A.F.M. Jansen; Helen Hawkings; Geoffrey Cowley; Kingston Namun; Mark Munguas; Pysal Eart; Caryl Feldacker; David Alexander/CCP; Jennifer Bowman; Marcel Reyners; Tita Oronoz/Family Health International; Marie Stopes International Viet Nam; Planned Parenthood Federation of America, Inc.; Basil Tushabe/CCP; Catherine Harbour; Lidia Carlton; Roobon/The Hunger Project-Bangladesh; Anne Tinker; Jean Sack/ICDDRB; Rick Maiman/David and Lucile Packard Foundation; Lauren Goodsmith; Emmanuel Dipo Otolorin; Project Concern International Staff.